Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Treaty on Armenia's accession to Eurasian Economic Union ratified by State Duma

December 10, 2014, 11:28 UTC+3

Russian lawmakers voted unanimously

1 pages in this article
© Sergei Fadeichev/TASS

MOSCOW, December 10. /TASS/. The lower house of Russia's parliament (the State Duma) has ratified the treaty on Armenia's joining the Eurasian Economic Union.

Armenia will become a member of the union after all the ratification procedures in member countries (Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan) are completed, but no earlier than January 1, 2015.

“Armenia has shown the maximum will to go the Eurasian way of development. It is a historic decision for the formation of the EEU,” the head of the Russian Duma committee for CIS affairs, Leonid Slutsky, told TASS earlier Wednesday.

The heads of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Armenia signed the agreement on the EEU in October this year. Armenia in September 2013 declared plans to join the Customs Union and participate in the EEU formation.

The Eurasian Economic Union is being formed as an interstate Eurasian integration organization based on the Customs Union, which is open for other states to join.

Infographics The Eurasian Economic Union starts its work

The Eurasian Economic Union starts its work

The Treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union comes into effect on January 1. Infographics by TASS

Show more
In other media
Partner News