Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

EurAsEc leaders to meet in Minsk on October 10

October 07, 2014, 14:17 UTC+3 MOSCOW MOSCOW October, 7. /TASS
1 pages in this article

MOSCOW, October 7. /TASS/. The Russian, Belarusian, Kazakh, Kyrgyz and Tajik presidents will meet in Minsk on October 10 to sum up results of 14 years of work of the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC) and sign an agreement on the termination of its activities from January 1, 2015, as the Eurasian Economic Union begins functioning on the day, the Kremlin press service said.

The EurAsEC during the 14 years of its existence has made a great contribution to the development of Eurasian integration processes, the formation of the Customs Union, the Common Economic Space of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan and the creation of the Eurasian Economic Union, the Kremlin said.

The next annual summit of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and a meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council will also take place in Minsk on October 10, in which the Russian president will also participate.

CIS leaders at the summit will discuss developing multilateral economic, humanitarian and law-enforcement cooperation and sign a number of agreements, decisions and a statement on strengthening the international system of control over drugs, the Kremlin said.

The leaders are also expected to sign a statement addressed to CIS nations and the world community in connection with the forthcoming 70th anniversary of the Victory in World War II.

The Supreme Eurasian Economic Council will discuss current issues of trade in goods and services, movement of capitals and labor forces and financial, organizational and technical aspects in connection with the beginning of the functioning of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) from January 1, 2015, the Kremlin press service said.

The treaty on the EEU signed on May 29, 2014 is undergoing ratification procedures in the Belarusian and Kazakh parliaments. Russia already ratified it on October 3.

Show more
In other media
Partner News