Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Oleg Tabakov elected Chairman of Public Television Council

October 04, 2012, 17:00 UTC+3

We will involve new independent companies to make a good and independent assessment,” said Director General of Public Television Anatoly Lysenko

1 pages in this article

MOSCOW, October 4 (Itar-Tass) —— Chief Artistic Director of Chekhov Drama Theater Oleg Tabakov has been elected Board Chairman of the Council of Public Television, the press service of the Russian Public Chamber said on Thursday.

At their first meeting the members of the Council elected Chairman and deputy chairmen of the Council, endorsed a document which specifies the tasks of the Council and also endorsed Chairman and deputy chairmen of an Observer Council of an autonomous non-commerce organization called Public Television of Russia.

People' s Artist of the Soviet Union Oleg Tabakov, who is Chief Artistic Director of the Chekhov Drama Theater, was unanimously elected to the post of the Council chairman; Yuri Simonov( Vyazemsky) - Chief of the world literature department of the Moscow Institute of International Relations, and Alexander Shkolnik - President of the League of Young Journalists, were elected deputy chairmen of the Public Television Council, the press service said.

One of the clauses of the document, which envisages an independent monitoring of Public Television and decides whether Public Television conforms to the needs of the society and establishes a degree of TV viewers’ trust in Public Television, aroused heated debates as to who and how often should conduct such a monitoring.

"I do not believe much in systems which establish TV ratings as sacred cows on television because they obviously were ordered by someone. Therefore, we will involve new independent companies to make a good and independent assessment,” said Director General of Public Television Anatoly Lysenko.

It has also been suggested conducting such monitoring more often - once every quarter of a year, rather than once in six months.

The newly established Observer Council incorporates Chairman of the Observer Council-Deputy-secretary of Public Television Mikhail Ostrovsky, and his deputies - Chief of the electronic mass media department of Nizhny Novgorod State University Anton Fortunatov, Press secretary of the Russian Railways Alexander Pirkov, First deputy Director General of Ostankino TV Center Igor Naigovzin, adviser to Director General of NTV Plus TV channel Konstantin Kochuashvili and Professor of the Higher Economics School Alexander Sharikov.

Show more
In other media
Partner News