Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Ruling coalition in Kyrgyz parliament breaks up

August 22, 2012, 14:07 UTC+3

The incumbent 120-seat Kyrgyz parliament was elected in the autumn of 2010

1 pages in this article

BISHKEK, August 22 (Itar-Tass) — The ruling coalition in the Kyrgyz parliament has collapsed, head of the parliamentary majority Kanatbek Isayev told reporters on Wednesday.

"The government therefore automatically resigns; until the formation of the new Cabinet, all the officials will continue to perform their functions in the capacity of acting ministers, including the prime minister," Isayev said.

The Ata Meken parliamentary faction withdrew from the coalition earlier on Wednesday. Sixteen of 18 Socialist faction members voted for the move. "On Tuesday, the Ar-Namys faction announced its intention to quit the alliance, too; therefore, the coalition consisting of the SDPK, Respublika, Ata Meken and Ar-Namys is as good as broken up," the local mass media reported.

On Tuesday, leader of the Ar-Namys /Dignity/ Party Felix Kulov announced plans to quit the coalition, because "Prime Minister Omurbek Babanov has not been fulfilling the terms of the coalition agreement."

"The premier relieved of his duties a minister, who is our Party member, without explaining the reasons," Kulov said.

Under Kyrgyzstan's legislation, if Ar-Namys and Ata Meken leave the coalition, it automatically ceases to exist. In this event, the representatives of the parties in parliament have to set up a new alliance to appoint the prime minister and Cabinet officials.

The incumbent 120-seat Kyrgyz parliament was elected in the autumn of 2010. It brings together representatives of five political parties: Social Democrats, Respublika, Ata-Zhurt /Fatherland/, Ata-Meken and Ar-Namys. They approximately gathered the same number of votes. Since none of the parties received more than half of mandates, their representatives had to forge an alliance. Eighteen months ago, Social Democrats, Respublika and Ata-Zhurt formed a coalition. Last December it collapsed and a new coalition emerged which added Ar-Namys. The new coalition appointed Mr Babanov, A Respublika Party representative, as prime minister, and the Cabinet included representatives of all the parties in the alliance.


Show more
In other media
Partner News