Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Medvedev to present five prizes to young scientists Wed

February 08, 2012, 1:05 UTC+3

The presidential prize in the fields of science and innovations is Russia's main scientific award to young researchers

1 pages in this article

MOSCOW, February 8 (Itar-Tass) — Five RF 2011 prizes in the field of science and innovations are to be presented to young scientists by President Dmitry Medvedev here on Wednesday. The prize winners this time are as follows: Alexander Blagov, Pavel Kovalyov, Viktor Orlov, Vladimir Komlev, and Andrei Raigorodsky. The prize presentation ceremony is timed to coincide with the Science Day, marked on Wednesday, and is to be held in the Kremlin.

The presidential prize in the fields of science and innovations is Russia's main scientific award to young researchers. A decree about annual presentation of the prize was signed by Medvedev on July 30, 2008. Today's ceremony will be a fourth one. At each of the first two ceremonies, only four works were marked out. Last year, there were seven prize winners. The prize for each work amounts to 2.5 million roubles.

Mikhail Kovalchuk, Learned Secretary at the Council to the President for Science, Technologies, and Education, and Director of the National research center "Kurchatov Institute", said, "Every year we take note of a very good representation of interesting studies -- 250-300 works". "This is more than that in 'adult' prizes," he added.

Kovalchuk emphasized that 125 out of 258 authors of researches who presented 247 works are under 30 years of age. "This signifies that we have a collossal reserve (of researchers engaged in scientific quest) which has been tried and tested in large-scale research efforts," he said.

The five present winners have been awarded the prize for their contribution to the development of science and inovations in key areas of research. Alexander Blagov has been given the prize for the development of scientific principles for the creation of readjustable X-ray optics for a new class of research instruments.

Pavel Kovalyov and Viktor Orlov got the prize for the development of technologies for the production of high-tensile frost-resistant steels for the extraction and transportation of hydrocarbon fuel in complex natural conditions.

Vladimir Komlev won the prize as a result of research into the creation of biocompatible ceramic and composite materials for new medical technologies for the restoration of bone tissues.

Andrei Raigorodsky was awarded the prize for major achievements in a number of branches of discrete mathematics and their practical applications in the field of information technologies. It is expected that at the ceremony that will take place in the Grand Kremlin Palace, the President will congratulate the young researchers and present prize certificates to them. It is planned that at the close of the ceremony the Head of State wll have a brief conversation with the laureates.

Show more
In other media
Partner News